Verdoy… The Early Years

Fires had always been a reason for concern in what was the Verdoy area of the Town of Colonie with no local volunteer fire department to handle them. Our neighbors from Shaker Road Volunteer Fire Department were always available to come to our aid if Verdoy needed help, but two serious fires in early 1944, one in the Verdoy area brought home the need for something closer to home. Following those fires the need for protection was of concern to many in the area. Mr. Wanton Budlong, then president of the Verdoy Improvement Association called a meeting with other members, William Cox, Howard Dill, and Bob Hawthorne. In order to get as much information as possible, they invited the Chief of the Niskayuna Volunteer Fire Department, the President of the Shaker Road Volunteer Fire Department, and the Supervisor of the Town of Colonie. Following this meeting the Verdoy Volunteer Fire Department was formed. William Green was asked to be Chairman of the drive to get things going.

In February of 1944 the Verdoy Volunteer Fire Association was formed with Roy Garrison as President; Edward Fort, Secretary; and Irving Buhrmaster, Treasurer. They held their meetings in the Community Association Hall at the intersection of Old Niskayuna Road and Route 7. The Fire Association immediately laid out plans for the Verdoy Volunteer Fire Department naming William Green, Chief; John Sellers, Assistant Chief; Peter Cramer, Captain and William Coleman, Lieutenant.

This was during World War II and a truck was hard to get due to priorities. After weeks of searching, a truck chassis was finally located and Chief Green used his own money to place a deposit. When the truck was delivered a booster tank, hose racks and compartments were mounted. At the time the truck was delivered there was no fire station but Verdoy members stepped up and during the winter months the truck was housed in a heated building at Fadeggon Nurseries and during the summer in Irving Bushmaster’s barn.

The firemen rang doorbells, held paper drives, bingo games and sold raffle tickets to raise money. They also held square dances in Chief Green’s new barn.

As World War II ended, the younger men returning from the war, joined the fire department. The Town of Colonie formed a tax district and Verdoy went on the tax rolls. Walter Russell was the first Chairman of the Board of Fire Commissioners.

A first firehouse was built at Stop 29 Troy-Schenectady Turnpike in 1948. The address later became 1026 Troy Schenectady Road. The Verdoy Volunteer Fire Department was serving its community providing fire protection as well as assistance in other emergencies. Additions were made to the station at 1026 Troy Schenectady Road in 1967. Due to FAA regulations it was necessary to move to our present location at 988 Troy Schenectady Road in 2001.

William Green Jr. 1944-1946
Cornelius Bol 1947, 1948
E. Kenneth Zeh 1949-1955
Joseph Lemoine 1956-1958
Harry C. Wager 1959
Joseph Lemoine 1960-1962
Ronald L. Orlop 1963-1968
Albert Rigali 1969 – 3/27/1970
John T. McNeff 3/28/1970 – 1975
Robert N. Stewart 1976, 1977
Dennis Toma 1978, 1979
Robert A. Winn 1980-1983
Alan M. Petrillo 1984
Terry Schlesinger 1985-1987
Robert Napier 1988-1991
Elliot Friedman 1992
Robert Napier 1993, 1994
Thomas Davenport 1995
David L. Leonardo 1996-1997
Steven Myers 1998
Robert Napier 1999
Gregory V. Serio 2000, 2001
David Johnson 2002-2004
Jason Wheatley 2005, 2006
David L. Leonardo 2007
Gregory V. Serio 2008-2011
Brian Girard 2012-2015
Nick DiNovo 2016, 2017
Jon Politis 2018, 2019
Nick DiNovo
Corey Friedman
2020, 2021
2022, 2023
W. S. Budlong 1944
H. Dill 1944
W Cox 1944
R. Hawthorne 1944
R. Garrison 1945
L. Hoyser 1946, 1947
J. Faddegon 1948
G. E. Longhurst 1949, 1950, 1951
J. Faddegon 1952
A. Broadbent 1953
F. Hartley 1954, 1955
A. Gold 1956, 1957
W. Rohrwassr 1958, 1959
S. Lobdell 1960
P. Murtagh 1961, 1962
J. O’Brian 1963
J. Lemoine 1964, 1965
Robert Stewart 1966
B. Burlingame 1967
Ronald Carey 1968, 1969
T. Stevens 1970
F. Fazioli 1971
J. Kohler 1972, 1973
J. Baldwin 1974
Robert Winn 1975
D. Williams 1976
J. Polsinelli 1977
David Allen 1978, 1979
M. Hudda 1980
Rick Nash 1981
David Allen 1982
John Eaton 1983
Jack Wands 1984, 1985
David Allen 1986, 1987
Alan Petrillo 1988-1994
Mike Dundon 1995, 1996
Elliot Friedman 1996
Joe Conroy 1997, 1998
Matt Kopach 1999
Peter Borhn 2000
David Meservey 2001, 2002
Joe Conroy 2003, 2004
Gregory Serio 2005
Brian Caney 2006-2008
Elliot Friedman 2009-2011
Joe Conroy 2012-2014
David Meservey 2015
Joe Conroy 2016
Thomas Jasiewicz 2017-2018
Joe Conroy 2019
Thomas Jasiewicz 2020
Brian Caney
David Leonardo
2021, 2022
John Innocent 1963
Robert Stewart 1965
Mike Dryden 1967
John Innocent 1968
Ronald Carey 1969
Michael Carey 1972
Dennis Toma 1973
John Cushine 1974
Robert A. Winn 1975
Lee Tashian 1976
John Innocent 1977
Paul Russel 1978
Elliot Friedman 1979
Michael Carey 1980
Carl Allen 1981
Alan Petrillo 1982
Steven Myers 1983
Dick Lyons 1984
John Tibbits 1985
John Eaton 1986
Paul Sugrue 1987
Robert Napier 1988
Robert A. Winn 1989
Frank Cuoccio 1990
Robert Stewart 1991
Joseph Toth 1992
Ronald Carey 1993
Jason Wheatley 1994
Russ Santore 1995
Steven Myers 1996
Robert A. Winn 1997
Robert Stewart 1998
Russ Santore 1999
Jason Reynolds 2000
Michael Carey 2001
William Neiger 2002
Jason Wheatley 2003
David Meservey 2004
Gregory Serio 2005
David Leonardo 2006
Joseph Santore 2007
Robert Stewart 2007
John Krill 2008
John Politis 2009
Ryan Carmichael 2010
David Haller 2011
Bill Neiger 2012
Brian Girard 2013
Ryan Leonardo 2014
Evan Dessingue 2015
David Leonardo 2016
Russ Santore 2017
Nick DiNovo 2018
Brian Caney 2019
All Active Members 2020
Brian Meservey Sr.
Brian Meservey Jr.

Verdoy – 1948

Verdoy – 1967

Verdoy – 2012

Verdoy – Today